21.1 C
New Delhi
October 25, 2021
PowerNews TV
National Politics

BSP will vote for BJP and other parties, says Mayawati to sink SP candidates in UP MLC elections


BSP chief Mayawati on Monday reaffirmed her support to BJP candidates or any other party to quash Samajwadi Party (SP) in the upcoming Uttar Pradesh MLC elections.

“I had said that even if we have to give the vote to any other candidate even he or she is from BJP or any other party in the upcoming MLC elections in the state to give reply to SP for its ‘anti-Dalit’ actions. We can support candidates from other parties but will not let the SP candidate win. BSP stands by its statement,” the BSP chief revealed to the media.

“However, Congress and SP are manipulating my statement for their interest to cut Muslim people away from the BSP and to ensure that Muslims do not vote for BSP in by-polls on the seven seats,” she said.

On the other hand, Mayawati also clarified that her party has not appealed to vote for BJP in any polls.

“In Bulandshahr, I have been told that BJP people are trying to propagate a video stating that BSP has supported their party. It is wrong. Whether it is Bulandshahr or polls to six other seats or Madhya Pradesh polls or Bihar Assembly elections, BSP has not appealed to its supporters to vote for BJP,” she said.

She also mentioned that riots broke out in Uttar Pradesh only during the SP rule and not during the BSP-BJP regime.

“Even after forming the government with BJP, BSP had not allowed Hindu-Muslim riots to take place. While during the Congress-SP regime there were riots in the state… In 1995, when I formed the government, BJP-RSS people in Mathura tried to hurt Muslim sentiments. I had not allowed it due to which my government also has fallen,” she said.

However, Mayawati received a big jolt last week as five legislators (Aslam Chaudhary, Aslam Raini, Muztaba Siddiqui, Hakam Lal Bind and Govind Jatav) of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) have withdrawn their support to the BSP’s official candidate, Ramji Gautam, for the Rajya Sabha biennial elections.

The five legislators informed the returning officers that their signatures as proposers for Gautam were “forged.” They later went to the Samajwadi Party office to meet Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav.

This unprecedented move by the BSP legislators is bound to create ripples in the political field in the 2022 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections.

Related posts

Ghulam Nabi Azad retires from Rajya Sabha amid emotional farewell from leaders across parties


Sachin vs Gehlot: What’s brewing today in Rajasthan congress


Farmers swelling at borders, Haryana cops say situation might go out of control


Leave a Comment